CAMPING SITE CELJE
WE ARE OPEN
I'm a Title. Click to edit me
Celje's cultural legacy testifies to rich and turbulent centuries. Originally "Keleia", a Celtic settlement where Noricum coins were minted, in the period of Emperor Claudius it developed as "Celeia" into the most important Roman borough and a most important economic and military center.
Tourist Information Center Celje
The Celje Tourist Information Center is located in Celjski dom (The Celje hall), on Krekov trg 3. It is a part of the Institute Celeia Celje (Assosiation for Cultural Events and Tourism).
TIC Celje offers a wide selection of informative material on Celje and its surroundings as well as information on attractions and events in the Celje region, souvenirs and a variety of postcards.
Krekov trg 3, SI-3000 Celje
Phone: +386 3 42 87 936
+386 3 49 25 081
Gsm: +386 31 610 537
Faks: +386 3 42 87 931
The regional Museum is located in the picturesque part of Celje by the Savinja River and on its premises it has been collecting, housing and displaying the cultural heritage of Celje and its wider area since 1882.
The exhibited permanent collections offer the unique opportunity to experience the "walk through time", from prehistoric times to WWI. The visit starts at the archaeological collection, which acquaints visitors with a rich palette of exhibits from the Early Stone Age to late Roman times. The life of prehistoric times is displayed with findings from settlements and burial grounds. Two archaeological findings are accentuated: Potočka zijalka Cave and Rifnik. With numerous exhibits from everyday life one of the peaks in the history of Celje is presented, the period of Roman Celeia in the first centuries A.D. For all connoisseurs of antiquity there is a rich Roman lapidarium on display in the garden and cellar of the museum.
Following the archaeological collection is a walk through the cultural and art-history collection at the late Renaissance palace, called the Old Manor House (Stara grofija). In an intimate atmosphere collections of furniture, paintings, graphics, sculptures, vessels, weapons and other "attractive small articles" present visitors with the different styles of the periods spanning the 13th century to the end of the end of the 19th century.
The most excellent part of the collection is the famous Celje ceiling from the beginning of the 17th century in the gala hall of the Old Manor House. The ground floor of the manor house boasts the ethnological collection, numismatic collection and two special collections: the collection of Alma Karlin and collection of Schütz ceramics.
The Celje hall
The former “German house” is the most impressive building in Krekov trg. Built in neogothic style between the years 1905-06, according to the designs of a wienese architect Peter Paul Brang, it was erected as a counterweight to the National Hall by the German population of Celje. It was the social centre of the German townspeople until the fall of Old Austria. The building was renamed into The Celje Hall after the First World War.
The Slovene national theatre
The northwestern defence tower, originally part of the town ramparts is a part of the Slovene national Theatre, which was built in 1885. The tower once used as a torture chamber had hosted travelling families of actors since 1825. This very same tower had another important historical role. In 1849 the first play in the native, Slovene language was performed here: A comedy, called Županova Micka, written by Anton Tomaž Linhart.
St. Mary’s Shrine
St. Mary’s shrine is standing on the spot where the shaming pillar, meant for punishing criminals and petty delinquents, used to be. The statue of Virgin Mary is positioned on a high pillar, which has a triangular base. St. Rocus (the patron against the plague) and St. Florian (the patron against fire) were the original statues, built at the foundation of the pillar. The statue of St. Joseph (the patron of families and workers) was added later, in the 19 Th century. The sides of the elevated base hold inscriptions from the 19th century, written in German, Slovene and Latin. The Main Square (Glavni trg), where the shrine is, had been a central fair- and marketplace up until the end of The Second World War.
The old Christian baptistery
The Old Christian baptistery, an octagonal christening reservoir constructed in the end of the 4th or 5th century, can be found in Gubičeva ulica. Two stairs lead to each of the opposite sides of the slightly elevated christening reservoir. There was probably a large church complex located in this part of town and the baptistery is assumed to have been a part of it.
The Calvary Hill
There is a representation of the famous Calvary Hill erected on St. Joseph’s Hill (Jožefov hrib). It consists of four chapels (originally, there were five, but one is missing) and the Golgotha group of statues on the top of the hill. The statues were made by a sculptor Mihael Pogačnik from Slovenske Konjice (a town on way to Maribor), together with the chapels in 1717. A sculptor by the name of Berneker renovated the sculptures approximately two hundred years later and also made a sculpture of Mary Magdalene or. Mary of Magdala (Marija Magdalena).
The People’s Savings and loans bank
It is the most important building from the inter-war period, built between 1928 and 1929, following the design of a famous Slovene architect Jože Plečnik. The wooden cross at the top of the building was taken down after the Second World War by the new regime and replaced with a metal one in 1991, after the war for independence.